Whey remains in the cheese production
Whey is the watery greenish-yellow liquid that results from cheese making. It is the liquid part left over after coagulation of the milk, after milk thikening.
Perhaps even more interesting: whey consists of 94% water, about 5% lactose, is almost fat-free and has a laxative effect.
There are two types of whey:
- the sweet whey (also rennet whey called), which results when you make milk with lab cheese to make cheese
- the sour whey that is produced when treating milk with lactic acid bacteria
Use of whey
- Agriculture: Mainly in pig farming as feed
- Cheese production: Sweet whey is used to produce almost fat-free whey cheese
- Beverage industry: Whey is used in various soft drinks (Rivella)
- Industrial use: cosmetics, bakeries, processed food production, etc.
Back to the cheese encyclopedia